Charter

District School Safety and Security Committee

2023-2024

Committee Purpose:

Participate in the development and implementation of emergency plans consistent with the district multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Addressing mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery as defined by the commissioner of education or commissioner of higher education in conjunction with the governor's office of homeland security.

Responsibilities of the Committee:

- 1. Approve plans that reflect specific campus, facility, or support service's needs.
- 2. Recommend, develop and implement emergency plans consistent with the district multihazard emergency operations plan required in accordance with best practices identified by the agency, the Texas School Safety Center.
- 3. Review the adequacy of district infrastructure for time of emergency.
- 4. Review each report required to be submitted by the district to the Texas School Safety Center to ensure that the report contains accurate and complete information regarding each campus, facility, or support service in accordance with criteria established by the center.
- 5. Consult and make recommendations with local law enforcement agencies on methods to increase law enforcement presence near district campuses.
- 6. Periodically provide recommendations to the district's board of trustees and district administrators regarding updating the district multi-hazard emergency operations plan;
- 7. The committee shall meet at least once during each academic semester and at least once during the summer.

Chair of the Committee: Britney Fortner, Director of Safety, Security and Threat Assessment This Charter is posted on our website.

Duration of Committee and/or Timeline:

O1 Wednesday, August 9, 4:15-5:15 PM

Q2 Wednesday, November 1, 4:15-5:15 PM

Q3 Wednesday, February 21, 4:15-5:15 PM

Q4 Wednesday, May 1, 4:15-5:15 PM

Location: Second floor east lobby

NOTE: The committee is subject to Chapter 551, Government Code, and may meet in executive session as provided by that chapter. Notice of a committee meeting must be posted in the same manner as notice of a meeting of the district's board of trustees.

Charter Members:

Dr. Kimberly Cantu, Superintendent

Dr. Sean Scott, Deputy Superintendent

David Wright, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services & Support

Donald Williams, Associate Superintendent, Communications and Marketing

Jeffery Brogden, Associate Superintendent, Facilities and Bond Programs

Paul Cash, Executive Director of Facilities

Jade Taylor, Threat Assessment Coordinator

Courtney Wilson, Mansfield ISD Board of Trustees President

Keziah Farrar, Mansfield ISD Board of Trustees Vice-President

Brooke Britain, Mansfield High School Coach

Jeff Hood, Rogene Worley MS Band Director

Kelsey Smith, Mansfield ISD Louise Cabaniss Elementary School

Marron Gebremeskel, Mansfield ISD Parent

Greg Minter, Mansfield ISD Chief of Police

Greg Cutler, City of Mansfield Emergency Management

Matthew Van Cleave, Mansfield ISD Emergency Management Specialist

Mike Midkiff, City of Mansfield Police Captain

Adam Gaston, Mansfield ISD J.L. Boren Elementary School

Adrianne Moody, Mansfield ISD Administrative Assistant

Britney Fortner, Mansfield ISD Director of Safety, Security and Threat Management