Reporting Traffic Accidents
No matter how carefully you drive, you may someday be involved in an accident. Regardless of who is at fault, it is important that you know what to do.
If you are involved in an accident, the law requires that you stop at the scene of the accident or as close to the scene as possible. Do not attempt to move an injured person from a wrecked vehicle unless you have the necessary medical training or there is another immediate danger, such as fire.
The Mansfield ISD Police Department will only file an accident report occurring on school property or those accidents involving school district vehicles for the following circumstances:
- There is a reported injury
- There is damage to Mansfield ISD property
- It is a hit-and-run accident reported within 24 hours after discovery of damage
- The accident involves DWI/DUID or a hazardous material spill
- There is a need for a wrecker at the accident scene
- The accident occurred during a police pursuit
State law requires that all drivers involved in a collision where the total damage is $1000 or above and/or an injury is suffered by any person where no police accident report is made must report the collision to the Texas Department of Public Safety in Austin, Texas within TEN (10) days of the collision. If your collision did not fall under one of the categories listed above, but it does fit the state reporting criteria, you must obtain form ST-2 (Blue Form) and report the collision to the state.
You will also need to exchange information with the other drivers involved in the accident. Be prepared to provide your name, address, driver's license number and vehicle registration information. The MISD Police Department provides a courtesy form (Vehicle Accident Information Form) for you convenience in exchanging information with the other drivers (see forms sections).
If you have an accident with an unattended vehicle, you must make a reasonable effort to find the owner of the vehicle or the owner of any other property that may be damaged as a result of the accident. Include your name, address, driver's license number and the date and time of the accident. You must report the accident to the police as quickly as possible.
If an accident report was made, you may obtain a copy of the report for a fee of $6.00 from the Mansfield ISD Police Department.
The Mansfield ISD Police Department is located at 1522 N. Walnut Creek in Mansfield, Texas, 76063. The police department is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you have any questions, please call 817-299-6000 and one of our communications operators will be happy to help you.